waiting

crib
I have been waiting for some inspiration for a last blog of this calendar year. Thanks to those who have read during the last year; special thanks to those who have commented here or on Facebook.

We are leaning towards Christmas and I most wish I could make some construction to hold some light and life of Christ. A luxuriant king sized bed but at once so simple and no more complex or pretentious than a wooden animal feed box. No design dreamed by me seems suitable; all structurally flawed. The waiting remains.

R.S. Thomas’ poem ‘Kneeling,’ a favourite, feels particularly apposite.

Kneeling.
Moments of great calm,
Kneeling before an altar
Of wood in a stone church
In summer, waiting for the God
To speak; the air a staircase
For silence; the sun’s light
Ringing me, as though I acted
A great rôle. And the audiences
Still; all that close throng
Of spirits waiting, as I,
For the message.
Prompt me, God;
But not yet. When I speak,
Though it be you who speak
Through me, something is lost.
The meaning is in the waiting.

2 comments

  1. Thanks for sharing your ponderings over the year. I have enjoyed reading them and have found them stimulating and profoundly real. Thank you also for the poetry. The poem above is beautiful and reminds me once more of the gift of Advent, my favourite season of the Church calendar. All too often we get on to celebrating Christmas too early and miss the depth that awaits us in Advent, if we choose to engage with it. Blessings and love.

Leave a Reply

